dthoughtsofmine's Blog

The 5 Languanges of Love – The Key for a Successful Relationship

The Five Love Languages

The Five Love Languages (Men's Edition) by Gary Chapman

The Five Love Languages (Men’s Edition)

This book is a superb truth for everybody which the principles can be applied for everyone!

After a long research and life worthy experience, Dr. Gary Chapman has come to a conclusion where there is only five languages of love. The book gives the insight of establishing a mature and joyous relationship. It stress out the importance of understanding the love languages.

Every relationship either as couple, friends or families has to always keep their “love tank” full. It is just like the car with gasoline, with no gasoline it won’t works, so does the relationship with empty love tank will not benefit anybody. It is true that in the beginning of a relationship, things are very sweet and seems that there is nothing bad will come from it but as it fight against time, things might get different. Therefore, keeping the love tank full is very crucial in every relationship as it will keep the lovey dovey relationship lasts forever.

The 5 languages of love ~ Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service and Physical Touch are basically what people speak of their love. Every love language is very unique and none is greater or better of another. A miss-matched of the love language will not just fill the love tank but will somehow flunk them.

  • Words of Affirmation

    Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important—hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten.

  • Quality Time

    In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful.

  • Receiving Gifts

    Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures.

  • Acts of Service

    Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter.

  • Physical Touch

    This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive.

(as quoted from http://www.5lovelanguages.com/learn-the-languages/the-five-love-languages/)

Personally, I would highly recommend this book to everyone for this book does not just give understanding but also encouragement for us to build a healthy and joyous relationship. Therefore, for those who have been so desperately looking for breakthrough, I dare you to identify your love language and your partner’s. I am assuredly and with full confident says that if just everyone know and apply the love language concept, there will be less tear in relationship, heart break will no longer last, children will be proud of their parents’ marriage.

I have seen and been experiencing so much failed relationship and the cost is too expensive to afford. Each failure will generate hurt and it will not be healed as times goes; but by understanding and applying this concept to your relationship will keeps away the hurt and make your relationship be an inspiration for your friends, families and children.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks


  1. * yosuakristianto says:

    Thed, pinjem dunk. hehehehehe, bagus banget kayanya..

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
    • Pasti bagus bgt donk! bole2.. kapan mau ambil?

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Frau shiejova says:

    koko ai e comment wa ho,,,

    u sia ‘men’s edition’ koko,,,masa kio wa thak..
    u kho leng bo siang ka ca bo peng…='(

    it seems like a good book.although i think there are so many ways of expressing the love,,may be like being a good listener also helps..haha…

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
    • Though it’s a men edition one but the love languages are the same.. I believe that the different edition shows different approach. And, I don’t share to specific gender here but to general one, though I read the men edition one.. However, above 5 love languages are also the same w/ the ladies’..

      Hmm.. If being a good listener can fill ur love tank, then u need to dig it further.. Perhaps that is the “quality time” that u after..=D

      So, what’s ur love language Jan?

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  3. * sari says:

    ko gun klo ko yos sudah pinjam, aku juga mo pinjam ya.
    ko yos selesai baca bukunya kasih ke aku ya, aku mo baca kayanya seru deh.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
    • Bole2 aj.. Tp kalo ente lbh baik baca yg women edition atau single edition..:) might be more useful.. Ayo, make a good investment by understanding the love languages..=D

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  4. * janice says:

    i prefer for quality time.
    u know that time is so precious, it can go forward but not backward.=)

    sometimes physical touch will say more than words of affirmation, in my opinion,
    therefore physical touch will be another way to strengthen others..=)

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: